I get knocked down

Some days I feel like a failure.  Today was one of those days.

Ged and I headed out for a 37km ride up to Monte Morello.  There are two ways to climb Monte Morello:  the easy way or the hard way.  We went the hard way.

It get’s a little steep (around 10%-12%) at the beginning of the climb, then about halfway through, there’s a friggin’ wall–a stretch of road that seems to go straight up.

When the climb kicked up to 15%, I started to struggle.  The legs barely turned the pedals.  I said “f*ck it” and shifted into the triple.  I had to zigzag just to keep momentum.  And then I started to lose control of the front wheel.

With every pedal stroke, the wheel would leave the ground for a second.  I got out of the saddle.  Ouch.  That hurts even worse.  As I was about to call it quits and take a break, I had trouble unclipping.

Down I went.



I fell onto some rocks on the side of the road. Don’t worry, Mom. Only flesh wounds.

I was furious and extremely embarrassed. How could I not get up this climb in the triple?! I’ve been riding for a while now (at least in my mind).

I felt like a failure, like I had made no gains as a cyclist since I started riding 2.5 years ago.

I got up and put my cleat covers on. I was going to finish this climb, even if I had to walk (yes, walk) the steep part.

After a couple of minutes of walking, I told myself to stop being a wimp and get back on.

The climb wasn’t over, but the steep part was. Even though my arm was bleeding and my legs were shaking, I was so pissed that I didn’t care about anything else except finishing the ride.

And I did just that.

7 thoughts on “I get knocked down

  1. It looks like you have water onthe knee in one of the pictures, which begs a question.
    Wht sryle of shoes should a woman wear, if she has water on the knee?
    Answer: Pumps
    Grandpa in Hollywood, Florida

  2. Aww you made a ride in the shape of a heart though. As it gets steeper make sure you shift forward to the nose of the saddle (like “on the rivet”.) Apologies if I’m teaching my grandmother to suck eggs. (If none of my gobbledygook makes sense ask Ged – I’m English and my idioms are peculiar.)

    • Your advice is definitely needed and appreciated. I’ll be the first to admit that I have no idea how to climb…Also, Ged was able to interpret. 🙂

  3. Amanda I hope you are ok I have decided to start a first aid account for you. Starting with your graduation $ Hee Hee. I love you sweetie. Please try not to get frustrated with yourself you can only try and do the best you can. We are only human. Love to GED. Ps. Grampa and I will be at your house tomorrow for fathers day. Please try to Skype

  4. Remenber Amanda, when you get knocked down the only way is up. Keep doing your best.
    Love, Grandpa

Comments are closed.