Stages 10 and 11

On Tuesday, Ged and I made our way slowly to the Grand Colombier (the HC climb for stage 10). We had no plans of where to camp. We just thought there would be space on the side of the mountain. Well, there weren’t really any spots.

All of the camper vans had taken what little space there was. As we kept ascending in the car, I noticed a nice flattish spot atop a wall of rock on the inside of a hairpin. I checked it out and decided it was tent-worthy. I’ve found that most often times the best camping spots are the impromptu/free ones.

The view from our tent.

Wednesday morning we were awakened by blaring Dutch techno music. The fans had arrived! That music didn’t stop until the last rider came by later that day…

After walking up and down the mountain to check out the profile, it was time for the caravan. Oh, the caravan. We got tons of free stuff that I have no use for.

Once the lead group came by, the mountainside ignited. The French went nuts when they saw Voeckler was in the break away.

Not long after, we saw Wiggins with Cadel right alongside him. Then, several minutes later, we finally saw Cav. He didn’t look like he was enjoying the climb very much.


Once all the riders went past, the spectators took off and we had the hairpin to ourselves again. We quickly packed up our things and headed to the valley to catch the rest of the stage on the big screen in town.

Once the sun went down, we made our way to La Toussuire (the stage 11 finish town). We found a patch of grass on the side of the mountain to pitch the tent and promptly fell asleep.

Thursday morning was full of pain au chocolate, bio yogurt and free hats. When the TV coverage started, we found a spot on some grass and watched the big screen for a long time.

Before we knew it, it was time to watch the finish. Once again, another happy day for the French.



Now I’m back in Florence and trying to figure out how to fix my bike. I have no clue where to start. The only thing I know is that I have an English BB.

Take care!

3 thoughts on “Stages 10 and 11

    • Yeah, just stopped in there and had a nice long chat with the mechanics about what needs to be done. I’ve been in there several times, but I felt a bit nervous about trying to explain everything that I would like done. Turns out my Italian is not nearly as bad as I thought it was! Thanks for the tips, Geoff.

Comments are closed.